How to: Be a Good Boy in Training

IMG_3510.JPG

Hi best friends!

I am learning so many good boy manners, let me share some with you so can be good boys too!

My people call it, “Sit” (you  may remember that I used to just give kisses when they asked me to do this). First, hold a cookie high above my head where I can see it. Then say, “sit.” I may jump for it, but soon the excitement will take over and my butt will meet the floor like a good boy.

My people call it, “Lay down” (an appropriate follow up from “sit”). First, tell me to sit. Then, hold the cookie directly in front of my face so that I can see it. Then, put the cookie onto the floor but don’t let me have it yet. Finally, keep showing me the cookie on the floor and drag it away until my front feet follow it and I lay down like a good boy.

It is not a good boy thing to do to go potty in the house. Good boys must go potty outside. When I feel the urge, I must walk around anxiously and wait by the door. Lack of communication that potties are about to happen results in stern words from my people. However, an exception to the inside-potty punishment was made when the loud dirt sucker machine scared me so much that I had no defense but to go both kinds of potties on the floor. There is much praise and joy when I go potty outside like a good boy.

Finally, I’m learning that the great big box I have to go in when my people leave is not such a bad place to be. You may remember that it is almost worse than the car. But now, it has great potential! My people leave me cookies and I always know that they will come home. The box is not forever and it is not a punishment! There is great praise when I sit down in it like a good boy.

For best results, end all good boy sessions with exuberant “Good boy!” shouts.

Leave a comment